Langley Writes

about her rich and random life

Q is for Quality: Quality of Life April 20, 2011

Filed under: general drivel — Langley Writes @ 1:00 pm
Tags:

sxc/dspruitt

After I wrote my P-post yesterday, I reflected on how the concept of quality of life is ever-changing. In the post (about popsicles, you can read it here) I described one of many fond childhood memories that did not require fancy trappings. Although a short post, the comments let me know the message was received the way I intended.

Quality is subjective. What I consider ‘fine quality’ may differ from you. A clear definition of quality of life is impossible to pin down.

The current economic climate seems to be shifting people’s personal definitions of ‘quality of life.’ Whether by choice or by necessity, simple pleasures are making a comeback. I’m glad.

Enough deep thoughts from me. Let’s test my theory.

Sound off…

What’s your definition of a good ‘quality of life?’

 

8 Responses to “Q is for Quality: Quality of Life”

  1. Wendy Says:

    I would say living without struggling daily to get by for me would be a good quality of life.

  2. baygirl32 Says:

    I would say if you have a roof over your head, food in your belly, your health and someone to love, you have a pretty good life

  3. gail Says:

    You’ve made some interesting points in your Q day post.
    To me, quality of life means having my health, food on the table, a roof over my head, and a backlog of books TBR. Everything else is a luxury.

  4. Ann Best Says:

    I think it’s what you say here: the simple pleasures. They become more and more important, at least for me, the older one gets.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog and leaving links for your blogs. I commented on your other one yesterday (I think it was yesterday), and now this one. I like both very much.
    Ann Carbine Best @ Long Journey Home

  5. Teri Smieja Says:

    I ALMOST wrote about Quality of Life too – great choice!

  6. Word Nerd Says:

    I’d say a quality life needs: people to love, people who love you, a good sense of who you are, a spiritual connectedness, work (not necessarily paying) that you find meaningful, and the ability and reasons to laugh.

  7. Donna Weaver Says:

    I agree about simple pleasures. Too often we make things way more complicated than they need to be.

  8. Kelly Spies Says:

    All I want in life is peace. Calm, peaceful days with no drama. I work really hard to avoid other people’s life and I think some people are drama prone because they don’t have a good quality of life. They’re bored, lonely, broke, stressed etc. I think if you can be happy with who you are and what you have at the time, in the moment then you are probably living your life to the fullest as much as you are capable of and therefore your quality of life is more abundent and when that happens you’re open to new things and to stretching for new things. nice post.

    I’m popping in for the a-z blogging challenge.


Leave a Reply

