Langley Writes

about her rich and random life

N is for Nitrotini April 16, 2011

Fridays are date night. Sometimes it’s a nice restaurant, sometimes it’s a pizza joint and sometimes it’s boiled peanuts and dogs at a baseball game. But we are going out on Friday nights.

Last night we stepped it up and went to Grill 225. Nice place. As we relaxed after the meal I was yammering on about the A – Z Blogging Challenge. I lamented that I had no schedule, that I was pulling topics out of thin air, blah, blah, blah. As my husband’s eyes glazed over and his mind wandered to his happy place (sports) the waiter walked past our table with 2 beautiful, martini-looking drinks. That in itself isn’t interesting but what made me stop my prattle and my husband snap out of his football fantasy was the fact that the drinks were smoking. A lot. Billows of smoke surrounded these martinis as if they were in a Fellini dream sequence. Very cool.

Turns out, the drinks were Nitrotini cocktails. Here’s a description, directly from Grill 225’s website:

Like your martini shaken…stirred…super-chilled? Come experience the new NitrotiniTM cocktail, the latest unique luxury from the prime beef pioneer, Grill 225. Cooled to –320 degrees Farenheit, the Nitrotini is Charleston’s only cocktail super-chilled with liquid nitrogen. Choose from over 20 Nitrotini selections, like the Mandarin Chocolate Ganache and Lemon Ginger. Refreshing, delicious and one-of-a- kind, only from Grill 225 in Charleston, SC.

The husband looks at me and asks if I want one. I didn’t. I declined because we’d had a few glasses of wine and I wasn’t keen about mixing wine with smoking martinis. Then, in a flash of good husbandness, my guy says “There’s your N-word Langley. Write about Nitrotinis.”  He was listening!

 
Source: Grill 225 Website (restaurant in Charleston, South Carolina)
Image credit: sxc/Whiter78
 

10 Responses to “N is for Nitrotini”

  1. Karen Bishop Says:

    Love it! Just when you think he’s not listening, he really is. 🙂

  2. Tony Payne Says:

    Sounds good. I forget when we last went out just to unwind.

  3. Marie Anne Says:

    Ohmy, I think I’d be afraid to drink something that was smoking. Nice help from the peanut gallery!

  4. Sylvia Says:

    Cool N word. I think it’s great you have a standing date night every week. I’m stopping by from the A to Z challenge and I look forward to reading more from you.

  5. Donna Weaver Says:

    What a brave soul to be doing A to Z for two blogs.

  6. Beth Says:

    I know that glazed-over look. When I see it, I usually say something like, “So then I covered myself in peanut butter, rolled around in birdseed and climbed up on the roof.” That usually snaps him back into the here and now. ;O)

    My “N” post is right here: http://www.word-nerd-speaks.com/2011/04/nanowrimo.html

    And you can find the “M” one here: http://www.word-nerd-speaks.com/2011/04/medical-marijuana.html

  7. PK Says:

    Although I rarely drink, I will make sure to try a Nitrotini if I’m ever in Charleston. 😉

  8. Kerry Says:

    LOL…funny how they always look so zoned out when all the while they were listening. It’s a man thing I guess…cute:)

  9. Tracey Says:

    Funny Story. lol. My husband has rare moments of alertness too.


Leave a Reply

