Langley Writes

about her rich and random life

Inchworms April 11, 2011

Filed under: general drivel — Langley Writes @ 5:28 pm
Tags: , ,

I loved inchworms as a child. They are a beautiful shade of green and, as kids, we were fascinated by the way they move. It’s still pretty cool to watch.

Whenever an inchworm would hitchhike into our house via my dog (Honey J. Dog) we would always sing this song:

Inchworm, inchworm
Measuring the marigolds
Seems to me you’d stop and see
How beautiful they are

After a choral acknowledgement of the little green guy, we’d carefully catch the inch worm and release it outside.

Where we live now, the inchworms are out in full force. They are hanging from trees like noiseless wind-chimes, swaying softly in the humid breeze.

According to AsktheExterminator.com, inch worms have the ability to spin a web similar to a spider’s web. When threatened, they drop from the tree and swing on a single thread until the risk is over. The thread eventually hardens and the inchworm climbs back to its food supply. Amazing.

As an adult I’ve learned that inch worms are a pest in the garden. Even though they have a cool way of moving and an amazing talent for avoiding danger, they are a nuisance. They devastate my plants, eating the leaves off my vegetables and my fruit trees.

They are feasting on my lemon trees at this moment. I find dozens in our house every day. No longer charmed by inchworms, I still sing to them. I can’t help it. Loud and strong, I break into the inchworm song before I release the silk-spinning wonders.

My garden will be happy when inchworm season is over. Come to think of it, so will my husband.

 

7 Responses to “Inchworms”

  1. Teri Smieja Says:

    They are sort of cool, except for that slimy trail they leave behind when they slither around. heehee

  2. Wendy Says:

    Are these those long really skinny segmented worms with tiny little legs? They hunch their backs up really high before continuing forward? If so, I used to love watching them and holding them. I never realized how destructive they were.

    Another A-Z Challenger stopping by to visit. You can find me at:
    The Frustrated Foodie

  3. Marie Anne Says:

    Sing it, Langley!

    I don’t see many inchworms around here, but we do have those other worms that make a mess in my apple tree.

    Popping in by way of the A-Z Challenge. I’m blogging at:
    Write, Wrong or Indifferent
    Marie Anne’s Missives
    In the Garden With Sow-n-Sow
    Every Day Crochet

  4. Beth Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen an inchworm. The only worms I’ve been up close and personal with are those fat little night crawlers that to often find themselves at the end of a fisherman’s hook.

    My “I” post is right here: http://www.word-nerd-speaks.com/2011/04/inconspicuous-online.html

  5. Cindy Beck Says:

    Cute song … I remember Danny Kaye singing it in “Hans Christian Anderson.” Thanks for reminding me of it. 🙂

  6. This is wonderful. It reminds me of how I used to love snow as a child before I knew how it could mess up the roads.

  7. Belle Wong Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen an inchworm. As a kid, I was fascinated by caterpillars, though!


Leave a Reply

